Weaving With Leftovers

A few weeks ago I celebrated a mini early Christmas. My sister brought me a large tote filled to the brim with yarn of all kinds. Bamboo, alpaca, wool and even a bit of angora. Some of the most fine yarns came in small spools, not nearly enough to make into any large project.

Whats the best thing to do with such odds and ends?

p

Weave.

I used flat bamboo coffee stirrers and yarn to create a small mat. You could also use round skewers to create the same effect.

To create a makeshift loom, I used  the large cardboard flat of a cereal box and cut slits at the top and bottom for the yarn to be strung though.

To create a makeshift loom, I used the large cardboard flat of a cereal box and cut slits at the top and bottom for the yarn to be strung though.

b

It's important to keep the yarn as taught as possible without bending the cardboard.

It’s important to keep the yarn as taught as possible without bending the cardboard.

The loom before the skewers have been woven through.

The loom before the skewers have been woven through.

f

The skewers being woven through the yarn.

The skewers being woven through the yarn.

As they are woven in, I pushed them close together.

As they are woven in, I pushed them close together.

i

k

The finished product still on the loom. At this point, I used glue to fix the yarn to the bamboo skewers.

The finished product still on the loom. At this point, I used glue to fix the yarn to the bamboo skewers.

m

Once the glue has dried overnight, I cut the mat from the loom using an exacto knife.

Once the glue has dried overnight, I cut the mat from the loom using an exacto knife.

At this point the mat is ready to be edged and finished!

At this point the mat is ready to be edged and finished!

r

 

If you don’t have any skewers, you could do this with other scraps of yarn, or even t-shirt yarn to make a thicker trivet.

s

 

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Wow! I love it! I’m so glad you found a use for the beautiful but small amount of handspun yarns I had! This would look great as a wall decoration or even Bamboo shades (if you had enough yarn). I love the close up pictures too, they really capture the beauty of the textures.

Leave a Reply

