Feng Shui Attack: A Before and After Story

It’s one thing to have a craft table and a whole ‘nother thing to have a craft spaceI am on the verge of beginning a huge project but I find myself to be stuck. Very stuck. A few months ago I worked on beautifying my craft space, and it helped for a little while. But I still need more of a division between dining area and crafting nirvana. I know that with the space I have available to me, nirvana is far from being reached, but I am determined to get just a step closer.

Step 1: A hot mess.

Step 1: A hot mess.

I began with this. Clutter everywhere because I hate putting stuff away, a bookshelf in the corner that wasn’t serving much of a purpose because the shelves are a quarter of a circle, and a round table sitting in the middle of the space, thus wasting the area around it. Just, a mess.

Step 2: Getting rid of the little things.

Step 2: Getting rid of the little things.

I cleared off the table, got that big bookshelf out of the corner and swapped it with an existing nightstand that I had in my bedroom. This shelving is perfectly functional, as it holds my baskets and mini totes full of crafty odds-and-ends perfectly.

Step 3: Make the area.

Step 3: Shape the area.

Luckily, the eaves of my round table drop down to make a cute little rectangular table. Scooched that all the way over to one side of the nook so I had a raw space to work with. I used my cutting mat and ruler to determine what size of table I could work with. Thankfully, we had an existing make-shift table in our apartment that fit perfectly. (Unfortunately for the Boy, I stole his computer desk so he had to go find a new one.) I also vacuumed.

Step 5: Finishing.

Step 5: Finishing.

Once I put the table in, it all came together. Now that the table isn’t taking up the entire area, the space looks huge. I think I am as close to crafting nirvana that I can be in this space. The only thing that would make it better is if I had a comfier chair. I need to suck it up and get one.

I am tickled to start my new project in my new crafting area which is… a surprise that I will be sharing with you in the next couple blog posts.

Enjoy, everyone!

2 responses

  1. Came here for the animals (from facebook), stayed for the feng shui… just wanted to say that I admire how you turned this space around! I don’t have an eye for such things. Well done!

Leave a Reply

