Have patience, have patience, don’t be in such a hurry…

A long long time ago, I decided that I was going to have a blog. The evolution of ideas have been vast, but all circling around the same two ideas: food and crafts. Nimble Fingers is where my crafty side and my culinary side will co-exist harmoniously. I will talk about my experience though culinary school at Le Cordon Bleu in St.Paul, MN, and my homebody self that loves to sit at the kitchen table and do crafts.

Now, I haven’t blogged since my freshman/sophomore year of high school, and although I’ve thrown the idea around for years, it is exciting to begin again! I ask you, please, have patience.

I am now in my 5th week of culinary school and I cannot believe how quickly it has flown by. I have 4 more days left of this semester, and once those days are done I will move on from Culinary Foundations I to Culinary Foundations II. I am the only Iowan in my class of 19 and out of those 19, only 6 are women.  So far in the 5 weeks I have been certified in Food Sanitation, have learned 17 fancy French knife cuts, 7 classic cooking methods, 5 “mother sauces” and lots of other stuff.

May I mention that I’ve learned all of these things between 6am-10am? Early morning class is a blessing and a curse for obvious reasons. I do enjoy having my entire day to do other things, such as work at Bruegger’s Bagels and crafting. Having class at 6am also creates an interesting breakfast plan. I’ve had fried chicken, mussels, chicken stew, a full 3 course meal that a neighboring class brought in, and head cheese. Head cheese, for those who don’t know, is not even cheese. It is bones or the head of an animal that has been boiled down to a jelly, and then it is formed and chilled until it turns solid. This particular head cheese was pork head. I scoured for the piece with the most distinguishable meat and smeared a little dijon mustard over the top. It smelled amazing, tasted pretty good, but had the texture of meat-jello. Would I eat it again? Maybe. If I had some crackers.

Embroidery Sample

Cross stitching and crocheting have taken up a hefty portion of my crafting lately. In an attempt to expand, I am also learning how to embroider. Cross stitching and embroidery are very similar, in cross stitching you use small ‘x’s to make an image, while in embroidery you have a little more free reign. The stitches vary (as my sample shows above) and you can use more variety of material. I also recently embroidered on some card stock for a wedding gift! The possibilities are endless.

My biggest inspiration right now comes from a blog called Wild Olive. Mollie, the creator, makes adorable little creatures out of embroidery. I check it every day. I simply cannot get enough. If you enjoy cute things, I suggest you do the same.

On a sinister note, since Saturday, I have gotten 5 bites. I suspected a spider to be the culprit, and today I verified it. Once the swelling went down on the bites, I saw two tiny puncture marks right in the middle. I stopped by the clubhouse to talk to the apartment management, and in only 3 short hours, a nice young man armed with pesticides came to our door. My hero for the day. Hopefully, the spider bites will cease.

3 responses

  1. So fun that you are blogging Sarah. Can’t wait to read more. BTW, growing up we would eat head cheese on top of a saltine cracker and a dot of hot sauce . . . pretty darn good.

  2. That’s what head cheese is?? Oh my god! It’s worse than I imagined! Love the blog 😉 keep up the good work!
    I also like how you link to other blogs with interesting things. That’s a great way to build community, and to inspire!

Leave a Reply

