The Addiction

Hello, my name is Sarah, and I have an addiction to crafting.

I completely and totally blame this on my mother and grandmother who sat me down at the  sewing machine year after year even before I was in kindergarden. No matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to shake it. I can barely go days without diving into my turquoise craft bin in the hallway closet (and the not-so-secret stash stowed underneath my bed), to create something. It is the perfect cure for boredom, and the thing I love about it most?

It is impossible to know everything in the genre of Crafts. There is always something new to learn.

Now, it has come to the point where I don’t realize that I am crafting, it is something done as a reflex. One of my favorite type of crafts are those that are not for decoration, but are cute and practical in everyday life. My most recent project is a series of crocheted washcloths. They are simple but beautiful. Delicate, yet durable.

I use Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton yarn for these washcloths. The cotton is compatible with washing machines, and the material does a great job at cleaning things! It’s a win, win. If you are a fellow crocheter- please follow along. It’s a simple pattern.

Crochet Washcloth

Chain 30

Row 1: single crochet (sc) in 2nd chain from hook, continue across. chain 1, turn.

Row 2: *double crochet (dc) and sc in first stitch (st), skip next st, dc and sc in next st, skip next st, repeat from *, chain 1, turn.

Repeat Row 2 until your washcloth is the desired length. I made mine as square as possible. If you wish, you may want to edge the washcloth with a row of single crochet (as shown with the white cloth).

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. I too picked up my addiction from my mother. But I have expanded it to include woodworking. I did not inherit the love of cooking that you got from her though. I have to say crafts are a “Boredom Buster”!

Leave a Reply

